General Director

The International Centre for Innovation in Education (ICIE)

September 2006 – Present (9 years 9 months)

Taisir Subhi Yamin is a professor of gifted education. He has a B.Sc. in Physics, an M.A. in Special Education, and a Ph.D. in Gifted Education and CAL from Lancaster University in England. He is the recipient of academic prizes and fellowships from Jordan, England, and the U.S.A. including a Fulbright Award (1996), and the British Council scholarship. Prof. Yamin is active in science popularization, and has written 20 books, a large number of articles, chapters in edited books, and research papers. He has developed a number of training packages to develop productive thinking skills. He is an active member of an impressive list of academic institutions including: the British Educational Research Association (BERA), the European Council for High Ability (ECHA); President, Jordanian Association of Physicists, the National Committee for Gifted Education; Founder, the Qatari Centre for the Gifted and Talented. He is also the National Chancellor and Vice President of the International Association of Educators for World Peace (IAEWP). He was a delegate of the World Council for Gifted and Talented Children (WCGTC) for about ten years. In 2002 he was elected as a member of the Executive Committee of the WCGTC. Professor Yamin was involved in developing UAE project for the gifted and talented in Ulm University. He has established, in cooperation with Todd Lubart and Sandra Linke, the International Centre for Innovation in Education (ICIE). The ICIE has eight branches in: France, Germany, Canada, United Arab Emirates, Turkey, Kenya, Jordan, and Sweden. In 2005 he was named editor-in-chief of the international journal in gifted education: "Gifted and Talented International". More recently he joined the teaching staff and the international research team at Université Paris Descartes. In March 2009, he was elected as the President of the WCGTC for 4 years. In 2013, he was awarded the Canadian International Scholar Award, and Harry Passow Award for Leadership in Gifted Education.